You are here : Skip Navigation LinksHome » About Odisha » Major Cities

Major Cities of Odisha

The state is dotted with several small and medium towns and cities. At the turn of the 20th century, however the role of industry in Odisha increased substantially, leading to a population move into urban areas. There are a number of major cities in Odisha that deserve a special visit. Each of the cities enjoys its own distinctive identity and individuality in terms of the spell it casts on the visitors.

Bhubaneswar (The Temple City)

Bhubaneswar is the capital of the Indian state of Odisha. The ancient city of Bhubaneswar is also known as the Temple City of eastern India. Bhubaneswar, derived its name from Tribhubaneswar, which literally means the Lord of the Three World (Tribhuban), which refers to Shiva. It is also known as Mandiramalini (The Temple City) also as Ekamra Kshetra and Kalinga Nagari. It is the largest city in Odisha and is a centr... More..

Cuttack (The Silver City)

Cuttack is the former capital and the second largest city of Odisha is also the headquarters of the Cuttack district. The word Cuttack derives its name from the anglicized sanskrit word Kataka which literally means The Fort, referring to the ancient Barabati Fort, around which the city developed. This city takes pride in the fact that it had been the capital of Odisha, before its shifting to Bhubaneswar, th... More..

Rourkela (The Steel City)

Rourkela is  one of the beautiful and the fourth largest city of Odisha after Bhubaneswar, Cuttack and Berhampur is situated about 340 kilometres north of state capital Bhubaneswar. The city is surrounded by a range of hills and encircled by rivers. The name "Rourkela" means "Our Village" in the local dialect of Sadri language spoken by the tribals here.   Rourkela is one of the oldest cities of Odisha... More..

Balasore (The Sand City)

The beautiful sand city Balasore is situated in Balasore district of Odisha, about 194 kms north of the State capital Bhubaneswar, near the southeastern coast of India. It is the headquarter of Balasore district. Balasore came to be known from the Persian word "Bala-e-sore" which means Town in the sea. The town is also known as sand city for its proximity to wonderful beaches. It is best known for Chandipur beach. It... More..

Sambalpur (The Hand Loom City)

The biggest city in western Odisha Sambalpur is situated in Sambalpur district, about 325 kms West of the State capital Bhubaneswar. It is the headquater of Sambalpur district and the second largest city by population in Western Odisha. Sambalpur was established in the year 1528 by Raja Balaram Dev. It is situated in the bank of river Mahanadi and is enriched with natural surroundings. Sambalpur derives its name from... More..

Brahmapur (The Silk City)

The Silk city Brahmapur is located in the eastern coastline of Ganjam district of Odisha, about 169 kilometres south of the state capital Bhubaneswar. It is one of the oldest and largest cities of Odisha and mainly a trading centre for Southern Odisha. The name Berhampur is an anglicized form of "Brahmapur" which etymologically means "The Abode of Brahma, the Creator". The city is famous for its intricately designed ... More..

Sharing is caring