You are here : Skip Navigation LinksHome » About Odisha » Rivers

Rivers of Odisha

Rivers in Odisha, though not perennial, serve the basic requirements of the state. The state being an agricultural land, these rivers carry vital responsibilities. There are eleven major rivers flowing in the state. These rivers are divided into four groups which flow through Odisha into the Bay of Bengal.

1. Rivers that have a source outside the State (The Subarnarekha, The Brahmani and The Mahanadi).
2. Rivers having a source inside the State (The Budhabalanga, The Baitarani, The Salandi and The Rushikulya).
3. Rivers having a source inside the Odisha, but flow through other states (The Bahuda, The Vamsadhara River and The Nagavali River).
4. Rivers having a source inside Odisha, but tributary to rivers which flow through other states (The Machkund, The Sileru River, The Kolab and The Indravati River).

The major rivers of Odisha are the following:

River Mahanadi

The longest river flowing through the heart of Odisha is Mahanadi. Also it is a major river in East Central India. It is the sixth largest river in India. It is 857kms long (494kms in Odisha) and its catchment area spreads over 141,600 sq kms (65,580 sq kms in Odisha). The river flows through the states of Chhattisgarh and Odisha. The river carries on an average about 92,600 million of water. It originates from the Maipal range in Chhattisga... More..

River Brahmani

The river Brahmani is the second largest river in Odisha and also it is a major seasonal river in the Odisha state of Eastern India. The Brahmani is 799kms long (541kms in Odisha) and its catchment area spreads over 39,033 sq kms. It originates as two major rivers like the Sankh and the Koel from the chotanagpur plateau of Bihar and both join at Ved Vyasa near Rourkela in Sundargarh district of Odisha forming the major river Brahmani. It flo... More..

River Subarnarekha

The river  Subarnarekha  originates near Nagri, near Ranchi, the capital of Jharkhand. It flows through the Indian states of Jharkhand, West Bengal and Odisha. As per tradition, gold was mined near the origin of the river at a village named Piska near Ranchi. This is why it was named Subarnarekha, meaning "streak of gold". Total length of the river from its origin to its outfall into Bay of Bengal is 446.12 kms, including 79 kms inside ... More..

River Baitrani

The river  Baitrani  originates from the Gonasika in the Guptaganga hills of Keonjhar district Odisha. The beginning portion of Baitarani acts as the boundary between Odisha and Jharkhand. It is one of six major rivers of Odisha. The river traverses a total distance of 360 kms before falling into the Bay of Bengal. A major portion of the river basin lies within the state of Odisha, while a small patch of the upper reach lies in Jha... More..

River Budhabalanga

The river Budhabalanga originates from the Similipal range of hills on Mayurbhanj district. It flows through the districts of Mayurbhanj and Balasore of Odisha. The river traverses a total distance of 175 kms before it finally empties into the Bay of Bengal. It rises in the Similipal hills and plunges through Barehipani Falls, the 2nd highest waterfall in India, located in Simlipal National Park.  The Budhabalanga River along with the t... More..

River Rushikulya

The river Rushikulya originates from the Rushyamala hills of the Eastern Ghats in Kandhamal district. It is one of the major rivers of Odisha. The river is 165 km long with the total catchment area is 7700 sq km before it finally empties into the Bay of Bengal. The river flows from Daringbadi block of Kandhamal and in Ganjam district it flows through Surada, Dharakote, Asika, Pitala, Sheragada, Purusottampur, Hinjilicut, Ganjam and finally a... More..

River Indravati

The river Indravati river of Odisha is a tributary of the Godavari River. It originates from the Eastern Ghats of Dandakaranya range in Kalahandi district and flows in a westerly direction, enters into Jagdalpur district in Chhatisgarh state.  It further traverses in the westerly direction and thereafter in southern direction before finally meeting Godavari River at the border of Maharashtra, Chhattisgarh and Telangana. The river is 535 km l... More..

River Kolab

The river Kolab originates from the Sinkaran hills of the Eastern Ghats in Koraput districts and finally meets the Godavari in Andhra Pradesh. It is is one of the main tributaries of Godavari and one of the major rivers of Odisha, The river covers a catchment area of 20400 sq kms. The prominent tributaries of Kolab are Karandi Nalla, Guradi Nalla, Kangar Nallah, Garia, Dharmageda Nallah, JamNadi, Malengar River, Mulervagu Nallah, Potteru Vagu Nal... More..

River Banshadhara

The river Banshadhara originates from the flanks of the Durgakangar hills (Lingaraj hills) of the Eastern Ghats in Kalahandi district and Kalyansinghpur in Rayagada district of Odisha and runs for a distance of about 254 kilometers, where it joins the Bay of Bengal at Kalingapatnam, Andhra Pradesh. The total catchement area of the river basin is about 10,830 square kilometers. It is an major east flowing river between Mahanadi and Godavari, in So... More..

River Bahuda

The river Bahuda originates near village Luba from the Singharaj hills of the Eastern Ghats in Gajapati district. It flows in the north east direction up to 55 km, south east direction for 17km in Odisha before entering Andhra Pradesh to flow for 18 km. Then it turns in Northeast direction for 6 km in Odisha before meeting the Bay of Bengal near the village Sunapurapeta, Odisha. The river traverses a total length of 96 km and the prominent tribut... More..

Sharing is caring