You are here : Skip Navigation LinksHome » Governance » Chief Minister of Odisha

Chief Minister of Odisha

Hon'ble Chief Minister of Odisha
Shri Naveen Patnaik

Naveen Patnaik is the Chief Minister of Odisha, India. He is the son of the late Biju Patnaik, former Chief Minister of Odisha. The founding chief of the Biju Janata Dal political party, he is also a writer and has published three books. His attempts to bring in transparency in the system and his drive against corruption in high places, including his own party BJD, have given him the epithet of "Mr Clean" and voted as most popular chief minister. A clean image man Naveen Patnaik is the chief minister of Indian state of Odisha since 2000, who is known for making the government transparent and corruption free. A latecomer in politics, his is the only rule, which is not mired with any scandal, severely dogged his previous regimes.

Naveen Patnaik was born on October 16, 1946,in Cuttack, Odisha to former Chief Minister of Odisha Biju Patnaik and his wife Gyan Patnaik. At the age of 7 he was sent to Welham Boys' School, Dehradun but later on shifted to the Doon School from where he obtained his Senior Cambridge Certificate at the age of 17. He attended the Delhi University where he obtained his Bachelor's Degree in Arts.

Naveen Patnaik returned from the U.S. upon the death of his father Biju Patnaik and was elected as Member of the 11th Lok Sabha in by-election from Aska Parliamentary Constituency. He was a member of the Consultative Committee of Ministry of Steel & Mines, Member of Standing Committee on Commerce, and Member Library Committee of Parliament. In 1998 he formed the Biju Janata Dal Party in Odisha and was elected to the 12th Lok Sabha from the Aska Parliamentary constituency. Subsequently he became the Chief Minister of the state in 2000 with the support of the Bharatiya Janata Party and has been ruling since. His party was part of the National Democratic Alliance.

Naveen Patnaik spend most of his early days away from Odisha so he couldn’t able to learn Odia language. He is only chief minister of India who dose not Speak regional language of the state. However he profess great mastery over Hindi and English language. At rallies, he speak Odia speeches written in English.

In the run-up to the polls for the Lok Sabha and Odisha Vidhan Sabha elections in 2009, BJD walked out of the NDA and joined the nascent Third Front constituted mainly by the Left Front and few regional parties. The BJP accused Naveen Patnaik of betraying them but he has in recent interviews said that Kandhamal violence was an eye-opener for him and he would never tie up with the BJP ever again.

The BJD won a resounding victory in both the Vidhan Sabha as well as the Lok Sabha elections in 2009, bagging 14 out of 21 Lok Sabha seats and 103 of the 147 assembly seats and was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Odisha on May 21 2009 for the third consecutive term.

Naveen Patnaik is also a founder member of the Indian National Trust for Art & Cultural Heritage (INTACH). He has authored three books: A Second Paradise: Indian Country Life 1590-1947, A Desert Kingdom: The people of Bikaner and the Garden of Life: An introduction to the Healing Plants of India, each one published in India, England and U.S..

List of Chief Minister in Odisha
# Name of Chief Ministers From To Party
1 Naveen Patnaik 2 Jun 2014 Present BJD
2 Naveen Patnaik 21 May 2009 2 Jun 2014 BJD
3 Naveen Patnaik 16 May 2004 21 May 2009 BJD
4 Naveen Patnaik 5 Mar 2000 16 May 2004 BJD
5 Hemananda Biswal 6 Dec 1999 5 Mar 2000 INC
6 Giridhar Gamang 17 Feb 1999 6 Dec 1999 INC
7 Janaki Ballabh Patnaik 15 Mar 1995 17 Feb 1999 INC
8 Biju Patnaik 5 Mar 1990 15 Mar 1995 JD
9 Hemananda Biswal 7 Dec 1989 5 Mar 1990 INC
10 Janaki Ballabh Patnaik 10 Mar 1985 7 Dec 1989 INC
11 Janaki Ballabh Patnaik 9 Jun 1980 10 Mar 1985 INC
12 President's rule 17 Feb 1980 9 Jun 1980 N/A
13 Nilamani Routray 26 Jun 1977 17 Feb 1980 JNP
14 President's rule 30 Apr 1977 26 Jun 1977 N/A
15 Binayak Acharya 29 Dec 1976 30 Apr 1977 INC
16 President's rule 16 Dec 1976 29 Dec 1976 N/A
17 Nandini Satpathy 6 Mar 1974 16 Dec 1976 INC
18 President's rule 3 Mar 1973 6 Mar 1974 N/A
19 Nandini Satpathy 14 Jun 1972 3 Mar 1973 INC
20 Biswanath Das 3 Apr 1971 14 Jun 1972 Independent
21 President's rule 11 Jan 1971 3 Apr 1971 N/A
22 Rajendra Narayan Singh Deo 8 Mar 1967 9 Jan 1971 SWA
23 Sadashiva Tripathy 21 Feb 1965 8 Mar 1967 INC
24 Biren Mitra 2 Oct 1963 21 Feb 1965 INC
25 Biju Patnaik 23 Jun 1961 2 Oct 1963 INC
26 President's rule 25 Feb 1961 23 Jun 1961 N/A
27 Harekrushna Mahatab 22 May 1959 25 Feb 1961 INC
28 Harekrushna Mahatab 6 Apr 1957 22 May 1959 INC
29 Harekrushna Mahatab 19 Oct 1956 6 Apr 1957 INC
30 Nabakrushna Choudhury 20 Feb 1952 19 Oct 1956 INC
31 Nabakrushna Choudhury 12 May 1950 20 Feb 1952 INC
32 Harekrushna Mahatab 23 Apr 1946 12 May 1950 INC

Sharing is caring