You are here : Skip Navigation LinksHome » Governance » Governor of Odisha

Governor of Odisha

Hon’ble Governor of Odisha
Dr. S. C. Jamir

Hon’ble Governor of Odisha, Dr. Senayangba Chubatoshi Jamir was sworn in on 21st March, 2013 in the Abhishek Hall of Raj Bhavan. The oath of office was administered by the Hon’ble Chief Justice of Odisha High Court, Justice Chokalingam Nagappan at a solemn function in Raj Bhavan.

Dr. S. C. Jamir, son of Senayangba Head Dobashi of Mokokchung district, was born on October 17, 1931 at Ungma village. His mother Takatula, daughter of Likokyangba is now 99 years old and is still active in her daily avocations. Dr. S. C. Jamir had his early education in the village and at Mokokchung. After finishing his matriculation examination, he joined Scottish Church College, Calcutta to study Intermediate Arts and from thence to Allahabad University where he completed B.A. and LL.B. in 1958. Dr. S. C. Jamir was the President of the Students’ Christian Movement at the University from 1954 to 1957 and was actively involved in student and Christian activities.

He began his political career soon after his studies. He was elected as the Joint Secretary of the Naga Peoples’ Convention on 22nd May, 1958. He was one of the signatories to the historic Agreement which is popularly known as the 16th Point Agreement with the Government of India in 1960 that resulted in the creation of the State of Nagaland as the sixteenth State of the Indian Union. He was also a member of the Interim Body of Nagaland. After the formation of the Interim Body, notification was issued to elect a person to represent the people of Nagaland in the Indian Parliament. Three candidates namely Shri A. Kevichusa, Kheloshe Seama and S. C. Jamir filed their nominations. Members of the Interim Body elected S. C. Jamir in 1961 to be the Naga representative in the Lok Sabha. To him goes the distinction of being the first Member of Parliament from the State of Nagaland.

He was appointed as Parliamentary Secretary to the First Prime Minister of India, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru in 1962. Later he served as Union Deputy Minister of Railways, Labour and Employment, Community Development, Cooperation, Food and Agriculture during 1966 and 1970 under Mrs. Indira Gandhi. He was a member of the Indian Delegation to UNO in 1962 as Political Advisor. He was also a member of the Indian delegation to International Labour Organization (ILO) at Geneva in 1968. He was the Deputy leader of the Indian delegation to International Social Welfare Conference at Manila in 1969.

In 1971, Dr. S. C. Jamir came back to state politics through a by-election from Mongoya Assembly Constituency. He was elected and entered into the Assembly and since then he has the unique distinction of never losing any Assembly election. Between 1974 and 2003, he served the people of Nagaland in different capacities. He was the Chief Minister of Nagaland five times, the longest in the history of Nagaland. Dr. S. C. Jamir is regarded as one of the architects of modern Nagaland for his outstanding contributions to the development of the State. He was also the President of the Nagaland Pradesh Congress Committee for more than ten years. He was also a member of the Congress Working Committee till he was appointed Governor of Odisha.

He was appointed as the Governor of Goa on 17th July, 2004 and served in that capacity till July 2008. He held the additional charge of Maharashtra. He was then appointed as Governor of Maharashtra and sworn in on 9th March, 2008 and served till 22nd January, 2010. During this period, he held additional charge of Governor of Gujarat from 24th July, 2009 to 26th November, 2009.

In recognition of his distinguished public service Dr. Jmir was conferred with several awards prestigious such as Rashtriya Ekta Puraskar by the Committee for National Integration, National Citizen Award, "Arch of Asia" at Bangkok, Distinguished Leadership Award titled Man of the Year 1998 by the American Biographical Institute, USA. He was conferred Doctorate of Divinity (Hon Causa) by the University of Serampore, West Bengal and Doctor of Literature (Hon Causa) by Nagaland University.

The hallmark of Dr. S. C. Jamir’s life has been his dedicated work for the unity and integrity of the country, peaceful solution of the Naga political problem with honour and dignity. His life was attempted four times by the anti-national elements for his steadfast stand for the unity and integrity of the country.

Dr. S. C. Jamir is married to Imkonglemla and now they have four children and twelve grand children. He is a forceful speaker, a prolific writer and above all a value based statesman. His hobby is reading books. He is a sports lover and even now he plays badminton.

LIST of Governors in Odisha
# Name of Governors From To
1 S. C. Jamir 9 Mar 2013 Present
2 Murlidhar Chandrakant Bhandare 21 Aug 2007 9 Mar 2013
3 Rameshwar Thakur 18 Nov 2004 21 Aug 2007
4 M. M. Rajendran 15 Nov 1999 17 Nov 2004
5 Dr. C. Rangarajan 27 Apr 1998 14 Nov 1999
6 K.V. Raghunatha Reddy 13 Dec 1997 27 Apr 1998
7 Gopala Ramanujam 13 Feb 1997 13 Dec 1997
8 K.V. Raghunatha Reddy Jan 31, 1997 12 Feb 1997
9 Gopala Ramanujam 18 Jun 1995 30 Jan 1997
10 B. Satya Narayan Reddy 1 Jun 1993 17 Jun 1995
11 Prof. Saiyid Nurul Hasan 1 Feb 1993 31 May 1993
12 Yagya Datt Sharma 7 Feb 1990 1 Feb 1993
13 Prof. Saiyid Nurul Hasan 20 Nov 1988 6 Feb 1990
14 Bishambhar Nath Pande 17 Aug 1983 20 Nov 1988
15 Cheppudira Muthana Poonacha 1 Sep 1982 17 Aug 1983
16 Justice R.N. Mishra (Acting) 25 Jun 1982 31 Aug 1982
17 Cheppudira Muthana Poonacha 4 Nov 1980 24 Jun 1982
18 Justice S.K. Ray (Acting) 1 Oct 1980 3 Nov 1980
19 Cheppudira Muthana Poonacha 30 Apr 1980 30 Sep 1980
20 Bhagwat Dayal Sharma 23 Sep 1977 30 Apr 1980
21 Harcharan Singh Brar 7 Feb 1977 22 Sep 1977
22 Justice Shiva Narayin Sankar (Acting) 17 Apr 1976 7 Feb 1977
23 Akbar Ali Khan 25 Oct 1974 17 Apr 1976
24 Justice Gatikrishna Mishra 21 Aug 1974 25 Oct 1974
25 Basappa Danappa Jatti 8 Nov 1972 20 Aug 1974
26 Justice Gatikrishna Mishra 1 Jul 1972 8 Nov 1972
27 Sardar Jojendra Singh(Acting) 20 Sep 1971 30 Jun 1972
28 Dr. Shaukatullah Shah Ansari 31 Jan 1968 20 Sep 1971
29 Dr. Ajudhia Nath Khosla 12 Sep 1966 30 Jan 1968
30 Khaleell Ahommed (Acting) 5 Aug 1966 11 Sep 1966
31 Dr. Ajudhia Nath Khosla 16 Sep 1962 5 Aug 1966
32 Yeshwant Narayan Sukthankar 31 Jul 1957 15 Sep 1962
33 Bhim Sen Sachar 12 Sep 1956 31 Jul 1957
34 P. S. Kumaraswamy Raja 10 Feb 1954 11 Sep 1956
35 Saiyid Fazl Ali 7 Jun 1952 9 Feb 1954
36 M.Asaf Ali 18 Jul 1951 6 Jun 1952
37 V.P. Menon(Acting) 6 May 1951 17 Jul 1951
38 M.Asaf Ali 21 Jun 1948
39 Dr. Kailash Nath Katju 15 Aug 1947 20 Jun 1948
40 Sir Chandulal Madhavlal Trivedi 1 Apr 1946 14 Aug 1947
41 Sir Howthorne Lewis 1 Apr 1941 31 Mar 1946
42 Sir John Austen Hubback 1 Dec 1938 31 Mar 1941
43 George Townsend Boag (Acting) 11 Aug 1938 7 Dec 1938
44 Sir John Austen Hubback 1 Apr 1936 11 Aug 1938

Sharing is caring