You are here : Skip Navigation LinksHome

Odisha at a Glance

Odisha, formerly known as Orissa, is an Indian state on the subcontinent's east coast, by the Bay of Bengal. It is surrounded by the Indian states of West Bengal to the east, Jharkhand to the north, Chhattisgarh to the west and Andhra Pradesh to the south. It is the modern name of the ancient kingdom of Kalinga. The modern state of Odisha was established on 1st April 1936, as a region in British India. Therefore 1st April is celebrated as Utkala Dibasa (foundation day of Odisha). The state is also known as Utkala when mentioned in India's national anthem, "Jana Gana Mana".

  • Konark Sun Temple
  • Hanuman Vatika Rourkela
  • Puri Beach
  • Hirakud Dam
  • Rambha Chilika
  • Rajarani Temple
  • Udayagiri Caves
  • Debrigarh Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Olive Ridley Turtles
  • Koraput
  • Chandragiri
  • Rath Yatra Puri
  • Nilamadhab Temple Kantilo
  • Daringbadi
  • Khandagiri Caves
  • Ramchandi Beach
  • Jagannath Temple Puri
  • Chandipur Beach
  • Mahendragiri
  • Puri-Konark Marine Drive
  • Nalabana Chilika
  • Koraput
  • Peace Pagoda Dhauli
  • Khandadhar Falls
  • Lingaraj Temple
  • Similipal Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Mukteshwara Temple
  • Kalijai Temple
  • Satkosia Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Gundicha Ghagi Keonjhar
  • Jhumuka Dam
  • Chandipur Beach
  • Nandanakanan Zoo
Cuttack remained the capital of the state for over eight centuries until 13 April 1948 when Bhubaneswar was officially declared as the new state capital, a position it still holds.

Odisha extends over an area of 155,707 square kms, about 4.87 (9th) of the total area of India. It has a coastline about 480 km long. Odisha stands for its ancient glory and modern effort. Endowed with natures bounty, a 480 km stretch of coastline with beautiful beaches, serpentine rivers, mighty waterfalls, forest-clad blue hills of Eastern Ghats with rich wildlife, Odisha is dotted with attractive temples, historic monuments as well as pieces of modern engineering feat. The land, while holding its original beauty, also offers the visitors modern amenities. Odisha, with a rich heritage that is more than two thousand years old, has a glorious history of its own.

The name Odisha is derived from Sanskrit word "Odra Vishaya" or "Odra Desa". The ancient province of "Odra desa" or "Or-desa" was limited to the valley of the Mahanadi and to the lower course of the Subarnarekha River. Orissa was renamed as Odisha and Oriya language was renamed as Odia on 1st November 2011 by Parliament of India.

Odisha is one of the major states of India both in terms of land area and population wise. The state is ranked at eleventh position in terms of Population in India. However the state population was recorded as 43,726,252 (4.37 Crore) in the year 2014. According to latest Census of India 2011, the Population of Odisha state was 4.19 Crore (3.73 percent of the total population of India). Oriya (officially spelled Odia) is the official and most widely spoken language, spoken by three quarters of the population. The overall literacy rate according to Census 2011 is 73.5%.

For administrative purpose, the state of Odisha is divided into 30 districts - Angul, Balangir, Balasore, Bargarh, Bhadrak, Boudh, Cuttack, Debagarh, Dhenkanal, Gajapati, Ganjam, Jagatsinghpur, Jajpur, Jharsuguda, Kandhamal, Kalahandi, Kendrapara, Keonjhar, Khordha, Koraput, Malkangiri, Mayurbhanj, Nabarangpur, Nayagarh, Nuapada, Puri, Rayagada, Sambalpur, Subarnapur, Sundargarh.

Sharing is caring